1. Padma Vibhushan is the _____civilian award of India ?


fourth highest

third highest

second highest

Answer: second highest


The Padma Vibhushan is the second-highest civilian award of the Republic of India, second only to the Bharat Ratna. Instituted on 2 January 1954, the award is given for "exceptional and distinguished service", without distinction of race, occupation, position, or sex. The award criteria include "service in any field including service rendered by Government servants'' including doctors and scientists, but excluding those working with the public sector undertakings.

2. In which field ‘saraswati Samman’ award is given ?





Answer: Literature


Saraswati Samman Award was instituted by the KK Birla Foundation in the year 1991. It is given annually for an outstanding Literature work written in any official Indian languages and published during the preceding 10 years. It carries a cash purse of Rs 15 lakh, apart from a citation and a plaque.

3. Which of the following is the highest civilian award of India ?

Padma Bhushan

Bharat Ratna

Padam Shri

Jnanpith Award

Answer: Bharat Ratna


Highest civilian award in India is Bharat Ratna which is followed by Padma Vibhushan, Padma bhushan and Padma Shri in the past.

4. Which is the gallantry award given in the event of an indirect confrontation with the enemy ?

Ashoka Chakra

Veerta Chakra

Paramveer Chakra

Shaurya Chakra

Answer: Shaurya Chakra


This is awarded for gallantry other than in the face of the enemy. This award may be granted to civilians or to military personnel and may be awarded posthumously.

5. Who is the first to receive a Nobel Prize in Physics ?

John Henry Dunet

Wangari Mathayi

Wilhem Konrad Roentgen

Linus Pauling

Answer: Wilhem Konrad Roentgen


Wilhelm Roentgen discovered the X-rays. He got the first nobel prize in physics in 1901. William Thomson invented the international system of absolute temperature.

6. Who is the first Indian to have won the Pulitzer Prize ?

Gobind Behari Lal

Sanghamitra Kalita

Jhumpa Lahiri

Geeta Anand

Answer: Gobind Behari Lal


Gobind Behari Lal was an Indian-American journalist and independence activist. He won the Pulitzer in 1937 in the journalism category. He shared the prize with four other reporters for covering science at Harvard University

7. The Padma Awards are announced around _____ every year ?

Republic Day

Hindi Diwas

Sadbhavana Diwas

Independence Day

Answer: Republic Day


The Padma award is one of the highest awards in india. It is given by the president once in a year.

8. The Pritzker prize is an international award given to recognise contribution in the field of_____ ?





Answer: architecture


Pritzker Prize, in full Explanation: Pritzker Architecture Prize, international award given annually to recognize the contributions of a living architect. It has often been called the Nobel Prize of architecture.

9. Name the first actor to win the Oscar Awards ?

Warner Baxter

Emil Jannings

Lionel Barrymore

Charlie Chaplin

Answer: Emil Jannings


The first Academy Awards ceremony was held in Hollywood on May 16, 1929. The name Oscar was not used for another few years. Emil Jannings was the first Best Actor and Janet Gaynor Best Actress.

10. The Lalit Kala Academy is the apex cultural government institute of which sector ?


Visual Arts

Performing Arts


Answer: Visual Arts


The Lalit Kala Akademi or National Academy of Art is India's national academy of fine arts. It is an autonomous organisation, established in New Delhi in 1954 by the Government of India to promote and propagate understanding of Indian art, in and outside the country.